My kids were just being dumb today. Dumb, dumb, dumb. Yes, dumb. In my eighth grade class, we were looking at primary source documents. As a veteran AP class taker and a recent graduate of the ACI history department, I know as well as the next person how hard it is to read primary source documents. The documents that we were looking at were either from the point of view from the British or the Colonists and they were discussing what happened at the Battle of Lexington. Before we even got started, we were talking about what a primary source document is and what a bias is. I was using questioning strategies and they were just bumps on a log. Not even bumps on a log. They were like slugs just starting blankly back at me. It was ridiculous! And so frustrating! The questions I was asking were NOT hard in the slightest. They were all connected and it was so annoying for them to just sit there and not answer. I think it was an off day for everyone though because first period was fine with it and then it was downhill. And I was slightly reassured because when I went into lunch, I said something like "Man, my kids were being stupid today" and Mark said "oh, yours too?" So it's not just me or the assignment because it's happening to everyone.
On a brighter note, my seventh graders did really well. AND I only have one lesson to plan for Thursday for my eighth graders before I'm done for the week. Thank goodness fo three-day long activities and long-term projects.
And seriously, there will be a smackdown if the kids are as dense tomorrow as they were today. But I nearly pulled my hair out. Hopefully these days will be IN-frequent. Man.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment